Posted by: rl4man | August 1, 2011

Not a PR, but an AG award!

OK, so maybe that ‘s a little misleading. I did get second in my age group at my 1 year racing anniversary 5k, but there were only 2 of us in the 40-49 group. But I’ll still take the lovely little plaque they gave out. 🙂

It was the Jack Patterson Memorial 5k in North Baltimore which was part of the Summerfest they hold the last Saturday in July. It didn’t start until 9:00 and it was already warm. I knew this one might be a struggle. I ran into my dental hygienist and her friend right before it started and it was nice to have someone to talk to before the race. It came time to line up at the start and I noticed someone I knew in my age group and knew that my 1st place was gone since she’s a speedster. I was still hopeful for 2nd place though as I didn’t see anyone else who looked to be my age.

So we started off. I went out pretty fast, knowing I couldn’t hold the pace, but I wanted to give myself a little cushion. The first mile was out of town and then up a country road, past the quarry. There was intermittent shade so it wasn’t too bad. I was tiring pretty quickly, though, in the heat and humidity. The second mile went up another country road with no shade and a slight incline about half way through. I really started to struggle there and my pace slowed considerably. The turn back toward town marked the start of the third mile and fortunately had a few small declines so I was able to pick up the pace a little bit to make up some lost time. I made it to the finish line in 32nd place out of 44. Not too great, but still faster than last year. My Garmin said 29:20.29. At least it was under 30:00.  I really feel like I gave it my best shot. I checked the results posting and I did indeed get 2nd place since there were no others 40-49. I was surprised actually at how small the race was. Last year there were about 60 runners. But I was glad to go up and claim my award during the ceremony.

While I was running, the boys had entered Rosie in the pet show over behind the library. They were thrilled and so excited that she won 1st place in the “Other” category of pets. They got a ribbon, a free ice cream cone at the Daily Queen (yes, that’s right, “Daily”), a free movie pass, and a free pet nail trim at the local pet groomers. Not bad for a free contest.

We went back into town around 9:00 to get the boys a treat and then go see the fireworks. They were pretty good for a small town, but we were right up underneath them and it got pretty loud. Plus, the mosquitoes were horrible so we stayed in the car and it was pretty hot. But the boys enjoyed it. They were pretty cranky on Sunday, though, since they got to bed so late.

My mother-in-law continues to struggle with her treatments. She’s having trouble eating enough and still has abdominal pain that she has to take percocet for. Fortunately, this week is a break week from chemo, so hopefully she’ll be able to rebuild her strength for the final three treatments. Then it’s on to radiation. I pray that she can tolerate everything well enough to complete it all. We just want this cancer gone and the whole ordeal behind us. We’re still praying that this will cure her. We know there’s a possibility that it won’t, but we’re not giving up hope.

I’ve been struggling with my running lately, mostly because I haven’t been able to get in as many runs as I want to each week for one reason or the other. There’s just so much going on. But most of the mid-week stuff should be over with now and Kevin will be returning to a daytime work schedule in two weeks, so I’ll have more “free” time in the afternoons and evenings. My pace has plateaued for the last couple months and I’m hoping to be able to start working on increasing it again. I have a couple more 5k’s coming up, maybe one this weekend and one for sure on Aug. 13 at the hot air balloon festival. Then I’ll be concentrating on half marathon season for the fall. I have two I’m already registered for in October and perhaps one in September in BG. It’s cheap (only $28) and very close by. The only problem is it’s the same day as the Kalb family reunion.

The boys will be going to Bowling Green Christian Academy this year. I’m not sure what changed Kevin’s mind about homeschooling, but I was relieved when he said we could try it. We weren’t sure how we were going to afford it, but then we got part of our deposit back on the house we were going to build 2 years ago to the tune of $2,000, my mom forgave the remaining $2,000 we owe her for the car we bought from them, plus she and Jack are going to give us $1,000 to help. What a blessing! We were getting a little behind on some bills due to unforeseen expenses (electricity bill adjustment, car repairs, etc.). This will entail extra driving, but our work schedules seem to work out perfectly for one of us to drop them off and one to pick them up. And since we’ll be heading north twice a day, we’re taking our house of the market for the time being.

There’s lots more I could say–lots of activities going on this summer (Cedar Point day, visit with college roommates, lake visit with the Huffs), but I’ll close out for now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

