Posted by: rl4man | January 23, 2013

No Excuse

It’s been way too long and way too much has happened. The last 7 months have been the hardest of our lives. I will attempt to update in bits and pieces, but here it is in the smallest nutshell possible.

My mother-in-law passed away in June. It’s been a struggle as the whole family adjusts to life without our center, particularly my father-in-law.

Kevin started a new and very stressful job in December which has caused our family no end of upheaval as we adapt to new schedules and responsibilities. It’s stressful for Kevin because he has a huge learning curve. And we’d like to get the house ready to sell so we can downsize and move closer to school and Kevin’s job.

We all went through a 5-week illness–cold, cough, bronchitis, etc–in staggered intervals starting around Thanksgiving with our youngest and just ending with Kevin now in mid-January.

On the running front, I was doing pretty well, set a few more PR’s in 5k and 1/2 marathon, but then the sickness hit and last week the front roller on my treadmill decided to bite the dust in the middle of a cold snap. The part is coming tomorrow, so I’m hoping by this weekend, I’ll be up and literally running again. I really, really want to hit a 25:00 5k this year.

I’m not sure how many details of races I can remember, but if I get the motivation to, I’ll post a few recaps in the next few days/weeks/months… whatever.

I’m not signed up for anything yet this year, however I’m toying with the Get Luckey 5k in February and the Toledo 1/2 or 5k in April. Of course there are my regulars, the North Baltimore 5k in July, the balloon fest 5k in August, the Findlay 1/2 in October, the Run4Haiti and Turkey Trot in November, and the Midnight Special in December. OK, I guess I have too many “regular” races. LOL! We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

Categories

