Posted by: rl4man | March 28, 2015

I’m Back

I’m back after a long hiatus. Life just got too overwhelming. But then I set up a new blog for my mom’s poetry (Mending) and thought maybe I should go back to mine.

I’m not even sure where to start. The boys are growing and doing well, we are slowly healing from the loss of my mother-in-law, although I believe we will never fully recover. My beloved step-father has passed away in November 2014 after 14 amazing years of marriage to my mom. In short, life has had it’s incredibly difficult times in the last couple years, but there has been good.

I am still running. I’ve run a lot of races, placed a few times in my age group (even got champagne flutes at the last two Midnight Specials!). I managed to top 1000 miles in 2013 and 2014. This year, maybe not. I have been training with the Dave’s Running group for the Toledo Glass City Half Marathon coming up soon in April, but haven’t registered yet. The reason why…

Since I am now near the age my dad was when he passed away from a ruptured brain aneurysm, my mom pushed me (and I didn’t resist) to get a MRA scan done of my brain to see if there was anything that needed to be addressed. I had it done in August 2014 and a suspicious area was found. So I was referred on to a neurologist who ordered a CTA which was done in November. This confirmed a likely small aneurysm, so I was referred yet again to a neurosurgeon. He said I needed a angiogram for a definitive diagnosis and passed me on to UTMC (because that’s the only place my insurance would cover) where I had that done at the end of January 2015.

They found not one, but two small aneurysms, side by side, one 3.3 mm and the other about 1.5 mm. Very small, but with my family history, I am at a higher risk of rupture. My best and pretty much only option for treatment is the placement of a Pipeline Embolization Device (PED) which is basically a stent that will cover the openings of both aneuryms, and allow them to occlude and reabsorb into the artery wall. It is a permanent fix which will pretty much cure my condition. It also done through a catheter, much like the angiogram, so my head doesn’t have to be opened up and recovery is relatively quick. Great news! But then the doctor says a new delivery system for the PED, Pipeline Flex, has just been approved and will make placement much easier and more accurate. Sounds good, right? But it’s not due to be delivered to the hospital until early April. So we wait to find out when it will come to schedule the surgery.

So no late April half marathon, right? Except that I contact the doctor’s office last week and am told that the medical company’s rep now says late April. We are going on a big vacation (first and only with the boys since they were tiny) in June and I don’t really want to be flying with a new device in my head that may cause headaches and fatigue for several weeks. So I’m looking to have it done after vacation in late June, I hope. So now the marathon is back on. Maybe. Because there’s a slight chance I could have it done the weekend of the race. So what do I do? I ran a long run today on the treadmill (it’s still too cold out there–I’m a wimp lately!), 12 miles, and felt great, so I think I could pull off a strong race in a few weeks.

Well, that’s the update. Small ticking time bomb in my head. Doc says it’s no danger for rupture anytime soon, but who knows. I could be in that 3% of the unlucky ones who pop. I’m really not worried, but the thought is still in the back of my head. (Pun intended! Ha!)

And I’m upset I can’t use these yet. I had them made and they were just delivered yesterday:

BrainMugBrainShirt

Leave a Reply

Categories

